Just Try To Put the Toddler To Bed

Okay, I know I have not been posting much the past couple of months. But  I promise I have a “semi- good excuse.” I just wanted to add a short post about something that has been on my mind for quiet some time. Last night I had an unexpected date night  babysitting job with a seven year old and an almost two year old. They were supposed to be in bed by 8:30 pm. I started getting them ready about 7:45 or so. We watched “The Bubble Guppies” for about twenty minutes and usually, by this time, both the girls would be fast asleep.

I thought they were, but when I left the room the 22 month old started screaming. She seemed genuinely terrified. I have only taken care of her one other time, but it was enough to know that she usually goes to bed just fine (a blessing with a two- year- old, I know). I went back into their bedroom and rocked her until she calmed down and put her back in her bed. After at least 5 minutes of quiet, I was relieved. “Your work is done, Merissa. She was just a little scared.” After about seven or eight minutes I heard a loud THUMP! I opened the door, and the look on her face was priceless. As if she was saying “What? I’m just moving around a bit…”

I proceeded to pick her up to put her back into her bed. She began to scream again. She shares a room with  her sister who is in first grade and needing to sleep. I tried to take the little one to a rocking chair in the living room to help her calm down, but every time I took more than two steps away from their bedroom door, she would start to scream again. So, with one good foot and a mind to “tune- out” the pain in my other one, I stood in the living room less than two feet from the bedroom door and swayed back and forth

image

This swaying soon got too painful on my ankle to handle, but when I tried to sit down or put her down, she only screamed some more. After about 45 minutes I asked her mother for suggestions. It turns out the problem was the simplest one to solve. I actually felt embarrassed that I didn’t think of it. The girl could not sleep without her pacifier! So, after handing her the pacifier, I let myself back into the living room laughing and mentally kicking myself all the way. Then I felt the pain in my ankle from standing too long and I thought to myself “The things we do for the next generation.” But it’s all worth it in the end, because we get to nurture a new generation who learn to put others first.

Have you ever had that kind of “brain- fart?”

Leave A Comment: Love To Read 'Em!

