Trying NaBloPoMo!!!

If you have loved writing as long as I have you probably have heard of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). It is an even which happens to be in November where millions of writers challenge themselves to write the first draft of a 50,000+ word novel by the end of the month.

For years I have been wanting to particiate, but never seem to remember until it is well into the month. This year I was planning to participate, but unfortunately, I will not have the time. But about a week ago I was reading a blog about another challenge for writers, in the month of November, called NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). While I do not have time to write a 50,000 word novel this month, I have discovered that I do have time for this.

The goal of NaBloPoMo is to write at least one post per day for the entire month of November. I realize it is the fifth of November, but now that I have finally cleared a chunk of my day, I will begin updating my blog daily for the rest of the month (except Saturdays and some Sundays) after which, I will likely resume to posting every Monday and Thursday.

I am going to be totally honest and say that I am really nervous about this because for me it is a huge commitment. I tend to start projects and then not finish them. But I keep thinking of me as high school student, struggling in my classes and about to give up. But my mom would just tell me that if I gave up in school, i would be giving myself the right to give up on anything throughout my life. So while I am very nervous that I will not be able to do it, I know that it is going to feel great acoomplishing this goal.
I am saying this for two reasons: the first is to ensure that I can’t make excuses, and the second is to encourage other people who write to make the same goal. If I, being one who procrastinates a lot, can do it, so can you, especially with a support system! Let’s be each other’s support system. If you are going to take the NaBloPoMo or the NaNoWriMo challenge, post a comment and a link to your blog. It may be the fifth, but it is never too late to challenge yourself to be better.

Leave A Comment: Love To Read 'Em!

